The U.S. Treasury imposed new sanctions against North Korea

The U.S. Treasury Department announced sanctions against eight banks in Korea, and 26 individuals representing their different countries, «in response to the continued development by North Korea of weapons of mass destruction and violations of the resolutions of the UN Security Council». This is stated in the message on the Agency’s website.

In the number of banks subject to the new restrictions include Agricultural Development Bank, Cheil Credit Bank Hana Banking Corporation Ltd., International Industrial Development Bank, Jinmyong Joint Bank, Jinsong Joint Bank, Koryo Commercial Bank Ltd and Commercial Bank Ryugyong.

Sanctions will concern also representatives of banks in Korea, China, Libya, Russia and the UAE.

«This reaffirms our strategy to completely isolate North Korea, to achieve their wider goals for a peaceful and nuclear-free Korean Peninsula. These actions are also consistent with the resolutions of the UN Security Council,» said Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin.

Since 2006, North Korea has produced six nuclear weapons tests. Last September 3 of this year. In response, the UN Security Council on 11 September adopted a resolution on toughening of sanctions against North Korea by selecting the ban on exports of North Korean textiles as well as hard limits on supply the country of petroleum products, particularly crude oil and condensates.

On 18 September it became known that after the imposition of sanctions, the price of gasoline has increased in the DPRK by 45% and diesel fuel – by 61.5%.

September 20, Reuters reported that North Korea bypasses international sanctions by using Russian ports.

The U.S. Treasury imposed new sanctions against North Korea 27.09.2017

Сентябрь 27th, 2017 by
36 queries