The EU imposed sanctions on 18 Syrian officials

The EU Council added the 17 Ministers and the head of the Central Bank of Syria on the list of those to whom are EU restrictive measures against the Syrian regime.

This is stated in the message of the Council of the EU, transfers «European truth».

Sanctions against the Syrian regime was introduced for the repression of the civilian population.

«This decision increases the total number of persons against whom there are visa bans and freezing of accounts, to 234», — stated in the message.

In addition, the sanctions against 69 companies. Sanctions include an oil embargo, restrictions on private sector investment, the freezing of assets of the Syrian Central Bank in EU, restrictions on the export of equipment or technologies that can be used for internal repression, etc.

The last time these measures were extended in may 2016 and remain in force until 1 June 2017.

We will add that earlier, on 27 October, the European Union imposed sanctions against ten leaders of the Syrian army and officials close to the President of the Syrian Arab Republic (SAR) Bashar al-Assad. The EU Council decision follows the conclusions of the European Council of 17 October and the conclusions of the EU summit on October 20-21.

The EU imposed sanctions on 18 Syrian officials 14.11.2016

Ноябрь 14th, 2016 by
36 queries