Estonia approved a new agreement with the United States on defense cooperation

The Estonian government on Thursday, January 12, approved the agreement on cooperation in the defense sphere between the governments of Estonia and the United States and authorized the defense Minister to sign it.

It is reported portal of Estonian public broadcasting ERR with reference to the press service of the government of the country.

Defense agreement will be made in addition to the agreement on the status of forces (SOFA) signed between the NATO countries and intended to replace the previous use agreement administered by the defense Forces of Estonia, the territories and buildings, concluded in 2015 by the governments of Estonia and the United States through an exchange of notes.

The new agreement will simplify the actions of U.S. troops and parties to the agreement on the territory of Estonia, and to clarify the procedure of tax incentives. A General principle of international defense cooperation is that the host country does not receive additional profit at the expense of the country sent her their armed forces.

It is specified that the agreement on defence cooperation between Estonia and the United States defines the status of the armed forces of the States parties to the agreement, the use of territories and buildings of the defence Forces of the American military and the American military by the right to install the necessary facilities provided in the conduct of their territories.

In addition, the agreement further specified the provisions of the NATO SOFA to the jurisdiction of Estonia and the USA in the event of misconduct or crimes committed by the US and contained at their expense persons during the stay in Estonia.

The agreement will be signed by the Minister of defence of Estonia and the U.S. Ambassador to Estonia, after which it must be ratified by the Riigikogu (the Estonian Parliament).

Estonia has already signed a similar agreement with Germany. In turn, the United States signed such treaties with Germany, Netherlands, Bulgaria, Poland and other countries of NATO.

We will remind, earlier it was reported that four battalions of NATO, one in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland — will be in 2017 located in the bordering countries of Russia on regular bases on a rotational basis, it was noted in the decision of the summit. The presence of allies will be constant, but the personnel will be replaced.

Estonia approved a new agreement with the United States on defense cooperation 12.01.2017

Январь 12th, 2017 by
36 queries